People

Research Interests Email/Phone Office

David Borys

  • Canadian History
  • Civil-Military Relations
  • Military History
david.borys@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5171
Buchanan Tower, Room 1197-A
1873 East Mall
V6T 1Z1 Vancouver
Canada

David Brownstein

  • Environmental History
  • Historical Geography
david.brownstein@geog.ubc.ca

Jay Eidelman

  • Jewish History
jay.eidelman@ubc.ca

Andrea Eidinger

  • Canadian History
  • Jewish History
  • Women's History
aeidinge@mail.ubc.ca

Matt Galway

  • Global Maoism
  • Ideology and Culture
  • Radical Intellectuals and Intellectual History
  • Southeast Asian History
  • The History of the Chinese Communist Party
  • Transnational Friendship Associations (友協會, Yǒu Xiéhuì) in Southeast Asia and Latin America
matt.galway@alumni.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5172
Buchanan Tower, Room 1108
1873 East Mall
V6T 1Z1 Vancouver
Canada

David Gossen

  • Modern Europe (19th and 20th centuries)
  • War and Society
  • Early Cold War
  • Memoirs
gossen@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5184
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1111
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Colin Green

  • modern Chinese history
  • Chinese and East Asian military history
  • comparative martial/warrior cultures
crgreen@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5938
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1106
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Colin Grittner

  • British North America Colonies
  • Canadian History
  • Cultural and Gender History
  • Political History
  • State Formation
cgrittne@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 827-0044
Buchanan Tower, Room 1197-B
1873 East Mall
V6T 1Z1 Vancouver
Canada

Kailey Hansson

  • Canadian History
  • International Relations
khansson@mail.ubc.ca

Michael Lanthier

  • History of France
  • Environmental History
mlanthie@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5938
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1106
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Eric Nellis

  • Early American agricultural economy
  • poverty in eighteenth-century urban America
  • Atlantic cultures in the early modern period.
eric.nellis@ubc.ca

(604) 371-2808
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1127
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Teilhard Paradela

  • Southeast Asia in the 20th Century: Local Elites, Global Linkages
  • Urban Tranformations (Spaces, Cultures, and Subjects)
  • the Marcos Regime in the Philippines
  • Gender, Performance, History Colonial Encounters, Gender Troubles
  • the Internationalization of Gay Male Identities
  • Spectacles and Spectatorship of Beauty
teilhard1976@gmail.com

Timo Schaefer

  • Mexico, 19th and 20th centuries
  • Legal culture
  • Oral history
  • Post-colonial state formation
timo1@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 827-0044
1197-B

Vitaliy Timofiiv

  • American History
  • Soviet History Teaching
  • Russian-American comparative studies
  • International Relations.
vitaliy@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5172
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1108
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada