Faculty

Research Interests Email/Phone Office

Courtney Booker

  • Early medieval Europe
  • Historiography
  • Rhetoric, narrative, and hermeneutics
  • Literary and textual criticism
  • Latin philology
  • Codicology, transmission of texts, and intertextuality
  • Drama and performativity
  • Political theology and l'augustinisme politique
  • Medievalism
cbooker@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-6480
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1202
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Robert Brain

  • History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
  • Modern European Cultural and Intellectual History
rbrain@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5409
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1101
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Alejandra Bronfman

  • 20th century Caribbean and Latin America
  • imperial and transnational history
  • violence and the production of knowledge
  • histories of race
  • broadcasting
  • wireless
  • sound, listening and politics
alejandra.bronfman@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5163
1121 Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Tim Brook

  • social and cultural history of the Ming dynasty (1368-1644)
  • the Japanese occupation of China during World War Two
  • historical perspectives on world history and human rights
tim.brook@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5192
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1117
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Jeffrey James Byrne

  • International history
  • Empire and Decolonisation
  • Cold War
  • Revolutionary movements
  • North Africa/Maghreb
  • Modern Middle East
  • Modern Africa
jeffrey.byrne@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5194
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1203
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Timothy Cheek

  • 20th century Chinese history
  • the history of the Chinese Communist Party
  • the role of intellectuals in public life in China
t.cheek@ubc.ca

(604) 822-6206
Choi Building
1855 West Mall Room 276
V6T1Z2 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Joy Dixon

  • History of gender, sexuality, and the body
  • history of religion
  • history of the social and human sciences
  • history of empire
joy.dixon@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5748
Room 1125, Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Michel Ducharme

  • British North American Colonies (1749-1873)
  • Canada and the Atlantic World
  • History of Québec
  • SSHRC 2008-2011: Pour une histoire du concept de liberté au Canada-Uni (1837-1867)(19th- 20th century)
michel.ducharme@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5642
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1104
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

William French

  • Latin American history
  • Mexican history (19th and 20th century)
  • Labour and social history
  • Working class culture
  • Gender
wfrench@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5706
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1123
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Christopher Friedrichs

  • Early modern European urban and social history
  • German history 1500-1800
  • German Jewish history
  • social history of the Reformation
  • early modern world history
crf@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-4010
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1119
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Eagle Glassheim

  • History of East/Central Europe
  • The Habsburgs
  • modern Germany
  • environmental history
eagle.g@ubc.ca

(604) 822-4101
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1221
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Anne Gorsuch

  • Soviet Union
  • Tourism
  • Cultural exchange and global encounter
  • Global Sixties
  • Cuba
  • Youth
gorsuch@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5151
Office of the President
7th Floor | Walter C. Koerner Library 1958 Main Mall
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Laura Ishiguro

  • British Columbia
  • the British Empire
  • comparative histories of empire and settler colonialism
  • migration and mobility
  • family and intimacy
  • Canada and the Pacific world
laura.ishiguro@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5174
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1110
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Alexei Kojevnikov

  • History of Modern Science, especially Physics
  • Science, Society, and Culture
  • Russian and Soviet History
  • Nuclear History and the Cold War
anikov@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 827-3561
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1226
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Paul Krause

krause@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5168
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1122
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Steven Hugh Lee

  • Cold War International History
  • Canada-US Relations; Canada and the World; the US and the two Koreas
  • Empire
  • Social and Political History of Conflict and Violence
stevenhl@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5164
Buchanan Tower
#1224, 1873 East Mall Office hours in Liu Institue for Global Issue #309
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Tina Loo

  • Environmental History of Canada
tina.loo@ubc.ca

(604) 827-3560
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1216
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Tara Mayer

  • Colonial South Asian history
  • Constructions of Britishness
  • Indo-European commodity exchanges
  • Clothing and other forms of material culture
  • Orientalist portraiture
  • Empire and aesthetic influence
tara.mayer@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5193
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1201
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Richard Menkis

  • Modern Jewish history
  • Canada
  • Ethnicity and historical memory
  • Religion and society
  • Antisemitism
  • Responses to the Holocaust
menkis@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-1374
Buchanan C - Room 223
1866 Main Mall
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Bradley Miller

  • Law and legal history
  • state formation
  • political history
  • Canada
brmiller@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-6307
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Rm. 1105
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

David Morton

david.morton@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5195
Buchanan Tower 1107

Tamara Myers

  • History of Children and Youth
  • Gender/Women's History
  • History of Crime and Delinquency
  • History of Adolescence and the Family
  • Quebec/Canada
tamara.myers@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5161
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1118
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Carla Nappi

  • Multilingualism and translation in early modern China and beyond
  • Histories of materiality and material experience
  • Natural history and medicine in the Ming and Qing
  • Sound and voice in translation
  • Manchu history and literature
  • Storytelling, fiction, history
carla.nappi@ubc.ca

(778) 994-1332
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1109
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Leslie Paris

  • Modern American social and cultural history
  • childhood and youth
  • gender and sexuality
  • popular culture
leslie.paris@ubc.ca

(604) 822-8810
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1228
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Glen Peterson

  • China
  • Chinese migration (especially to Southeast Asia)
  • Overseas Chinese and the modernization of China
  • Refugee movements into and out of China in the twentieth century
glpeters@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5177
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1120
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Sebastian R. Prange

  • History of pre-modern South Asia with a focus on trans-oceanic networks
s.prange@ubc.ca

(604) 822-6152
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1227
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Paige Raibmon

  • Indigenous people and colonialism
  • Life writing and life history
praibmon@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5166
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1220
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

John Roosa

  • Southeast Asia
  • Nationalism
  • Imperialism
  • Oral history
  • Human rights
jroosa@mail.ubc.ca

(604) 822-5175
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1115
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Leo Shin

  • Imperial and modern China
  • Texts and textual transmission
  • "China" and "Chineseness"
  • Borderlands and boundaries
  • Historiography and methodology
  • Comparative early modern societies
  • Culture and society of Hong Kong
leo.shin@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5167
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1223
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Arlene Sindelar

  • medieval legal and social history
  • the history of women and the family
  • medieval English common law and legal profession
  • relationships under common law
arlene.sindelar@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5162
Office Hours M & W 2:00-4:30 pm
Buchanan Tower Room 1103 1873 East Mall
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Coll Thrush

  • Indigenous
  • colonial and Atlantic
  • Northwest Coast and Pacific
  • environmental
  • place-based histories
coll.thrush@ubc.ca

(604) 827-3623
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1205
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Heidi J. S. Tworek

  • News and Media
  • International Relations
  • International Organizations
  • Legal History
  • Germany and Europe
  • Higher Education
  • Global History
  • Business History
heidi.tworek@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5181
Buchanan Tower 1102
1873 East Mall
V6T 1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Daniel Vickers

  • Early America
  • social history of seafaring
  • work and economic culture
daniel.vickers@ubc.ca

(604) 822-5178
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1225
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Jessica Wang

  • U.S. history, 19th and 20th centuries
  • history of science and medicine
  • political and intellectual history
  • social and urban history
  • U.S. international history
jessica.wang@ubc.ca

(604) 822-6155
Buchanan Tower
1873 East Mall Room 1219
V6T1Z1 Vancouver , BC
Canada

Henry Yu

  • Global Vancouver
  • Trans-Pacific migration
  • Asian Canadian and Asian American history
  • Race and immigration
  • Social Science and Social Theory in US and Europe
  • Public History and History Education
  • Hong Kong and Canada Crosscurrents
henry.yu@ubc.ca

(778) 895-5088
St. John's College
2111 Lower Mall Principal's Office
V6T1Z4 Vancouver , BC
Canada