Sebastian Prange's American Historical Review article -- "A Trade of No Dishonor: Piracy, Commerce, and Community in the Western Indian Ocean, Twelfth to Sixteenth Century," has been awarded the Forum on European Expansion and Global Interaction (FEEGI) 2013 Biennial Article Prize for an article published between Oct. 2010 and Oct. 2012.

Leslie Paris has been awarded the American Studies Association's Yasuo Sakakibara Prize for the best paper presented by an international scholar at the 2012 meeting of the ASA.  Her paper, entitled "'The Mess They Leave Behind': American Children and Environmental Activism, 1962-1980," explores children's roles both as icons in the emergent adult environmental movement and as activists in their own right.

During the summer of 2012 I was privileged to participate in the Berlin Group Study Program through Go Global at the University of British Columbia. The Conway Scholarship made it possible for me to see the places, hear the language, and immerse myself in the culture that I have studied for the past five years.

New faculty member Sebastian Prange has won the prize from the International Economic History Association (IEHA) for the best dissertation in pre-1800 economic history.

The History Department sponsored its first ever History Honours Reunion during the UBC Alumni Weekend in May 2012.  It was a wonderful opportunity to bring together alumni ranging from the Class of 1966 to 2012.  We had 48 guests join us for a short documentary film by Daniel Froidevaux, BA’04, Little Castle, and a lecture by Professor Christopher Friedrichs, "E

Michel Ducharme has been awarded le prix Lionel-Groulx 2011 from L’Institut d’histoire de l’Amérique française for his book Le concept de liberté au Canada à l’époque des Révolutions atlantiques (1776-1838).  This is second major award Michel has won, the first being the 2011 Sir John A.

Congratulations to Michel Ducharme for winning the 2011 Sir John A. Macdonald Prize for Le concept de liberté au Canada à l’époque des Révolutions atlantiques (1776-1838)!  The Sir John A. Macdonald Prize is awarded annually to the best book in Canadian history.  

The CHA described the book in the following way:

Applicants are invited to apply for the Conway Summer Travel Scholarship in German History (Award #: 1301)

A $5,450.00 summer travel scholarship has been endowed by Professor John Conway to commemorate thirty-eight years of teaching in the Department of History, UBC.

Applications should outline the candidate’s interest or research in the history of Germany and include a proposed itinerary, and plans for further study.