The Department of History records with sorrow the recent death of Professor Emeritus Ivan Avakumovic, a noted historian of twentieth-century political movements and a memorable teacher of modern international history.  Professor Avakumovic died in Vancouver on July 16, 2013 at the age of 86.

Congratulations to History student, Jackey Lip, who has been awarded the 2013 Mack Eastman United Nations Prize for paper he wrote for Hist490H "The History of Violence." The paper was entitled: 

Steven Bunker, former UBC History Honours undergrad and MA student, won the 2013 Thomas McGann Award of the Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies for his book Creating Mexican Consumer Culture in the Age of Porfirio Díaz.  Steven is currently an Associate Professor of Latin American Studies at the University of Alabama.

Courtney Booker has been awarded a prestigious Humboldt Research Fellowship by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation for the 2014/2015 academic year. The fellowship offers experienced researchers the opportunity to spend time abroad conducting collaborative research with educational institutions in Germany.

Sebastian Prange's American Historical Review article -- "A Trade of No Dishonor: Piracy, Commerce, and Community in the Western Indian Ocean, Twelfth to Sixteenth Century," has been awarded the Forum on European Expansion and Global Interaction (FEEGI) 2013 Biennial Article Prize for an article published between Oct. 2010 and Oct. 2012.

Leslie Paris has been awarded the American Studies Association's Yasuo Sakakibara Prize for the best paper presented by an international scholar at the 2012 meeting of the ASA.  Her paper, entitled "'The Mess They Leave Behind': American Children and Environmental Activism, 1962-1980," explores children's roles both as icons in the emergent adult environmental movement and as activists in their own right.

During the summer of 2012 I was privileged to participate in the Berlin Group Study Program through Go Global at the University of British Columbia. The Conway Scholarship made it possible for me to see the places, hear the language, and immerse myself in the culture that I have studied for the past five years.

New faculty member Sebastian Prange has won the prize from the International Economic History Association (IEHA) for the best dissertation in pre-1800 economic history.

The History Department sponsored its first ever History Honours Reunion during the UBC Alumni Weekend in May 2012.  It was a wonderful opportunity to bring together alumni ranging from the Class of 1966 to 2012.  We had 48 guests join us for a short documentary film by Daniel Froidevaux, BA’04, Little Castle, and a lecture by Professor Christopher Friedrichs, "E

Michel Ducharme has been awarded le prix Lionel-Groulx 2011 from L’Institut d’histoire de l’Amérique française for his book Le concept de liberté au Canada à l’époque des Révolutions atlantiques (1776-1838).  This is second major award Michel has won, the first being the 2011 Sir John A.