Congratulations to Chair of the History Department, Tina Loo, whose name was on the list of New Fellows for 2016, Royal Society of Canada. Tina was described in the following way:

Congratulation to Paige Raibmon who has been named a Senior Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR) program in Successful Societies!

The UBC Atlas Undergraduate Journal of World History is calling for submissions for its Spring 2015 edition. For over ten years, The Atlas has been publishing high-quality, original research produced by Undergraduate Students in the field of History. The journal aims to provide a platform for student engagement that is rewarding and enriching to both student authors and the undergraduate community here at UBC. We invite you to submit your history-related papers for consideration by our submission deadline, December 23, 2015. 

Von der Großstadt zum Kleinstaat:
In search of traces of the past from Berlin to Liechtenstein

History Majors, Minors and Honours students,

The Atlas Undergraduate Journal of World History is hiring Editors for its 2015/16 edition! The Atlas has been publishing outstanding student work for over ten years, and Editors are a significant component of the Journal’s success. We feature original research produced by Undergraduate Students in the field of History and publish annually in April. If you would like to be part of our team, please apply by October 2nd.


Congratulations to Courtney Booker for being awarded membership to the Institute for Advanced Study for the coming academic year 2015–16.

A celebration of the life of Allen Aaron Sinel will be held on August 6 from 4-7 pm at the Piano Lounge, Green College, UBC.

Those who would like to share their memories of Allen are most welcome to do so.

Please let us know if you plan to attend by sending an email to by July 20.

Henry Trim, who recently completed his dissertation in our Department, Experts at work: the Canadian state, North American environmentalism, and renewable energy in a era of limits, 1968-1983, has been awarded a SSHRC postdoctoral fellowship for a research project on Amory Lovins, sustainability, and the rise of "natural capitalism" in the United States during the 1970s and 1980s. He will be working with Prof. Patrick McCray at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Tamara Myers, Leslie Paris, and Mona Gleason (EDST)  are very pleased to announce that the Society for the History of Children and Youth's Eighth Biennial Conference will be held at the University of

Congratulations to Paige Raibmon for winning the CHA's 2015 Aboriginal History Book Prize. Paige colloborated on Written as I Remember It: Teachings (ʔəms taʔaw) from the Life of a Sliammon Elder with Elsie Paul and Harmony Johnson.

Elsie Paul won the 2015 CHA Lifetime Acheivement Award.