Thinking about a History Major, Minor, or applying for the Honours Program?  

The UBC History Department is pleased to invite you to come to learn more about our undergraduate programs at our information and social event:

The NDP government recently announced their decision to move forward with the construction of Site C Dam. The controversial project, which is set to cost the province an estimated $10.7 billion, has been actively protested by environmentalists and Indigenous communities. Dr. Tina Loo has written various pieces on the province’s history with large Dam projects, most recently on Cite C, and their effects on local communities and provincial economies.

Congratulations to Laura Ishiguro for her appointment as a Wilson Associate with the Wilson Institute for Canadian History​ at McMaster University.

A special congratulations to Jeff Byrne, the 2017 winner of the AHA's Bentley Prize for his book Mecca of Revolution: Algeria, Decolonization, and the Third World Order (Oxford Univ. Press, 2016). This prestigious prize is awarded annually to the best book in the field of world history.

Sebastian Prange has been awarded the prestigious Insight Grant by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) of Canada. This grant provides funding for the next five years for his project on “Monsoon Islam”, which studies the development of Muslim communities and Islamic practices across the trading world of the medieval Indian Ocean.

Please join me in congratulating Laura Ishiguro who has just been awarded the Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism's Article Prize for "'Growing up and grown up in our future city': children and the aspirational politics of settler futurity in colonial British Columbia"

Join me in congratulating Professor Emeritus Arthur (Skip) Ray on winning the 2017 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize for his work on Aboriginal land claims litigation entitled Aboriginal Rights Claims and the Making and Remaking of History.

Undergraduates become History majors for many reasons, ranging from a deep, often very personal, interest in the culture of a particular region to a desire for a strong foundation in writing and research skills. Those of you who have taken courses in our lower division sequence taught by our award-winning instructors will already have seen history come alive in their hands.  If you want to continue to deepen your understanding of the world you live in while learning valuable skills in researching and writing, become a History Major, Minor, or Honours Student.

Congratulations to Leslie Paris, recipient of a 2017 National Endowment for the Humanities. The project for which Leslie won the award is entitled "American Children, Parents, and the State, 1960–1980".

NEH awards are extremely competitive with a success rate of around 7 percent. It's also worth noting that Leslie was the sole recipient of a 2017 NEH grant not based in the U.S.

Congratulations to Chad Bush, History Department undergraduate student, who has been named an Academic All-Canadian by Governor General David Johnston. A goalkeeper for the Thunderbirds, Chad had a 10-0-1 record during the 2015-16 season, was a 1st team all star and led Canada West goalies in wins, fewest losses, goals-against average, shutouts, and fewest goals against. Academically Chad had a sparkling 4.22 GPA.