Professor Laura Ishiguro and UBC History Alumnus Laura Madokoro have co-authored a chapter in a new book. Their article White Supremacy, Political Violence, And Community, 1907 and 2017 takes an in-depth look at the race riots of Vancouver on September 7th, 1907—the largest race riot in Canadian history.  The article also reflects on a recent anti-Islam rally that took place at Vancouver’s city hall on August 19th, 2017.



Congratulations to Tara Mayer for receiving the 2018/2019 Killam Teaching Prize! The Killam Teaching Prize is awarded annually to faculty nominated by students, colleagues, and alumni in recognition of excellence in teaching.



“News from Germany: The Competition to Control World Communications, 1900-1945” by Heidi J.S Tworek

Congratulations to Ken Corbett for winning the Pacific Coast Conference on British Studies Graduate Student Paper Prize!

Ken attended the Pacific Coast Conference on British Studies (PCCBS) at the University of California Santa Barbara on March 23-25 2018 and he presented his paper "Redeeming the Time: Punctuality, Credit, & the Middling Sort.” Ken's paper was selected as the best paper delivered by a graduate student member of the PCCBS in 2018. 

Dear UBC History Alumni,

There’s a lot going on in History!  We’ve launched a bi-annual alumni newsletter to highlight exciting work by students and faculty; bring you the latest news from the Department; and keep you apprised of upcoming history-related events at UBC.  Each issue will include alumni news and updates, as well as features of interest to those with an enduring fascination and engagement with history.

UBC History Emeritus Professor Arthur Ray was honoured with the 2018 Massey Medal from the Royal Canadian Geographical Society.  He was recognized for his contribution to the development of a more comprehensive geography of Canada. Read the press release here:

November 9, 2018

A collection of essays from scholars has been put together and released in time to mark a momentous occasion —one hundred years since the end of the First World War and the 100th anniversary of Remembrance Day.

The Centre for Japanese Research and UBC Library at the University of British Columbia are proud to announce the launch of the Meiji at 150 Digital Teaching Resource (DTR).  Curated and edited by Tristan Grunow and Naoko Kato, the Meiji at 150 DTR presents open-source scholarly content that will be useful for educators and academics looking for new images and topics to introduce into their classroom teaching, while highlighting the academic research made possible using UBC Library’s digital archives.  

The Washington Post published an op-ed by Professor Heidi Tworek about Donald Trump's tariff on Canadian newsprint. "Even in a purportedly digital age, material concerns fundamentally shape news. We forget that lesson at our peril," she wrote.

Read the full piece here


Tara Mayer has been awarded $35,000 in funding by the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies to convene an international conference on “Visual Literacy: Seeing, Making and Reading Images across the Disciplines.”